Arkansas’ lawmakers vote against impeachment

Dec 19, 2019
In The News

Arkansas’ lawmakers vote against impeachment

Written by: Adam Roberts
Published by: 4029 TV

All four Arkansas members of the U.S. House of Representatives voted against the impeachment of President Donald Trump.

The House impeached the president Wednesday evening for the third time in American history. He stands accused of abusing his presidential power when he asked Ukraine to investigate his political rival ahead of the 2020 election and then obstructing Congress’ investigation.

Rep. Steve Womack represents Arkansas’ 3rd District, which includes Fort Smith, Fayetteville, Springdale, Rogers and Bentonville.

He sent a statement to 40/29 News:

“Today is a sad day for our country and the people’s House. Instead of fighting for priorities that will make a difference in the lives of American families, House Democrats have focused a majority of their agenda on this impeachment moment. It has consumed them since the hour they learned the results of the 2016 election. It’s exactly why we witnessed an inquiry driven by politics, hearsay, and a pre-determined outcome – not one rooted in fairness or facts. And, for the first time in history, impeachment is expected to move forward with a party-line vote. Although this process is likely to end in the Senate, some Democrats have already stated that it won’t stop their work to remove a duly-elected President. It’s yet another signal that the intent has always been political. I regret that these actions have further divided our nation and blocked progress on issues that contribute to the strength of Arkansas and America. I truly hope that we can move forward, remember the many things that unite us, and get back to bridging the gap on the numerous challenges facing our nation.”

Rep. Bruce Westerman represents Arkansas’ 4th District, which includes Hot Springs and Texarkana. He spoke on-camera with 40/29 in Washington, D.C.

“The Democrats have been working since before President Trump was even inaugurated,” Westerman said. “They’re going to finally get the vote they’ve all been longing for when they vote to impeach the president.”

Rep. French Hill represents Arkansas’ 2nd District, which includes Little Rock.

He released a statement earlier this month, writing:

“This partisan inquiry was flawed from the start when House Democrats blatantly deviated from historical precedent by altering the process used to establish impeachment proceedings against both President Nixon in 1974 and President Clinton in 1998. Additionally, the results of Speaker Pelosi’s inquiry failed to meet criteria she herself established this past March for impeachment, requiring ‘something so compelling and overwhelming and bipartisan.’ The only bipartisan voting record that exists in the House is against the impeachment inquiry.”

Rep. Rick Crawford represents Arkansas’ 1st District, which includes the eastern part of the state.

He released a video on Twitter during the impeachment debate, comparing the impeachment efforts to a “three-ring circus.”

“There is no underlying crime, there are no underlying grounds for impeachment,” he said.

Recent Posts

Feb 29, 2024

Rep. Crawford Votes to Avoid Government Shutdown

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Sara Robertson ( Rep. Crawford Votes to Avoid Government Shutdown 2/29/2024 Washington — Representative Rick Crawford (AR-01) released the following statement after the House passed H.R. 7463, the Extension of Continuing Appropriations and Other Matters Act, 2024 on Thursday evening, avoiding a partial government shutdown. “This short-term funding extension gives Congress and the American people […]

Crawford Statement on Passage of Continuing Resolution

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Sara Robertson ( Crawford Statement on Passage of Continuing Resolution 1/18/2024 Washington — At the precipice of a partial government shutdown, the House and Senate approved a Continuing Resolution (CR) to keep the government funded at last year’s spending levels until early March while negotiations for full year funding continue. Representative Rick Crawford (AR-01) […]

Dec 18, 2023

Crawford Statement on Acquisition of U.S. Steel by Nippon Steel Corporation

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Sara Robertson ( Crawford Statement on Acquisition of U.S. Steel by Nippon Steel Corporation 12/18/2023 Washington — Today, Representative Rick Crawford (AR-01), Chairman of the Congressional Steel Caucus, released the following statement in response to the acquisition of U.S. Steel by Nippon Steel Corporation. “Today’s announcement regarding the acquisition of U.S. Steel by […]