Arkansas Members Urge Cottonseed Eligibility

Feb 04, 2016

Washington, D.C. – After reports that the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) plans to deny urgently needed assistance to American cotton farmers and rural communities that depend on our domestic cotton industry, Representative Rick Crawford (AR-1), the Subcommittee Chairman for General Farm Commodities and Risk Management, along with Rep. French Hill (AR-2), Rep. Steve Womack (AR-3), and Rep. Bruce Westerman (AR-4)  issued the following statement.
On December 15th of last year, a rare coalition of rural and urban Democrats and Republicans from inside and outside of cotton country came together for a common purpose. More than 100 of these Members requested in a letter that the Secretary of Agriculture use his authority to allow cottonseed to be eligible for commodity programs under the Farm Bill. Our letter has yet to receive a response, but yesterday, we learned that the Secretary declined to help our cotton producers, who are currently challenged by severely depressed market conditions in the face of unfair foreign competition. The seriousness of the situation calls for the immediate action of the USDA, which must show the same concern for our producers all around the country, regardless of what they raise. The livelihoods of American families depend on it.


In December 2015, cotton producers and House lawmakers encouraged Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack to add cottonseed as an “other oilseed.” Language in the 2014 Farm Bill allows the Secretary of Agriculture to designate “other oilseeds” that qualify for Farm Bill commodity programs. More than 100 Members of the U.S. House of Representatives sent this letter the Secretary and did not receive a response. Congressmen Rick Crawford, French Hill, Steve Womack, and Bruce Westerman each signed the letter. In a speech on February 3rd, 2016, Secretary Vilsack announced that the USDA would not declare cottonseed an oilseed.

James Arnold, Crawford: (202) 225-4076
Claire Burghoff, Womack: (202) 225-4301
Mike Siegel, Hill: (202) 225-2506
Ryan Saylor, Westerman: (202) 225-3772

Recent Posts

Jun 14, 2024
Veterans' Affairs

Arkansas House Delegation to McDonough: The Politicization of the VA is Inappropriate

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Sara Robertson, Crawford Brooke Nethercott, Hill Sarah Henderson, Westerman Olivia Tripodi, Womack Arkansas House Delegation to McDonough: The Politicization of the VA is Inappropriate 6/14/2024 Washington, D.C. — Congressmen Rick Crawford (AR-01), French Hill (AR-02), Steve Womack (AR-03), and Bruce Westerman (AR-04) sent a letter to U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Secretary Denis […]

May 29, 2024

Arkansas Delegation Supports Governor’s Request for Major Disaster Declaration

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Boozman, Sara Lasure or Matthew Wester Cotton, Caroline Tabler or Patrick McCann Crawford, Sara Robertson Hill, Brooke Nethercott Womack, Olivia Tripodi Westerman, Sarah Henderson Arkansas Delegation Supports Governor’s Request for Major Disaster Declaration 5/29/2024 Washington, D.C. — U.S. Senators John Boozman and Tom Cotton—along with Congressmen Steve Womack, Rick Crawford, French Hill and Bruce Westerman—wrote to President Joe Biden urging him to […]

Rep. Crawford Introduces EOD Legislation

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASEContact: Sara Robertson ( Rep. Crawford Introduces EOD Legislation 5/22/2024 Washington, D.C. – Congressman Rick Crawford (AR-01) introduced a series of bills this week that will improve the welfare of our military’s Explosive Ordnance Disposal (EOD) personnel. Crawford, the founder and chairman of the House EOD Caucus, worked with caucus members on the House […]