Crawford Announces First District Winners of 2014 Congressional App Challenge

Jun 05, 2014

U.S. Representative Rick Crawford (AR-1) announced Arkansas’ First District winners of the 2014 Congressional App Challenge Thursday with a team of three Cross County high school students taking top honors.

Cross County High School students Philip Billings, Carmen Juarez, and Truman Jones finished first for creating the iOS application iSave, which helps young people manage their finances.

Congressman Crawford said the app provides an invaluable tool to help high school students with their finances prior to graduation by including tip and gas calculators, money saving suggestions, and a transaction manager.

“As high school students prepare to further their education or to enter the workforce, it’s critical for them to know how to manage their finances,” Crawford said. “The iSave app encourages them to start handling small purchases such as gas and expand from there. I commend Philip, Carmen, and Truman for their outstanding idea.”

This year’s app submissions were ranked in three categories, including “Quality of Idea,” “Implementation,” and “Expression of Knowledge in Computer Science.” The app with the best overall ranking among these categories was declared the winner.

The 2014 Congressional App Challenge was open to all Arkansas First District students ages 13 years or older. Students submitted original app designs for their platform of choice, posting both their app’s source code and a demonstration video explaining the apps and what they learned during the process.

Crawford said he hopes to see the program expand next year.

“The App Challenge places a needed emphasis on educating students to develop the apps upon which we rely every day,” Crawford said. “This year’s competition has proven we have talented, budding developers in our District, and we plan to foster those abilities and ideas in the future.”

Recent Posts

Jun 14, 2024
Veterans' Affairs

Arkansas House Delegation to McDonough: The Politicization of the VA is Inappropriate

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Sara Robertson, Crawford Brooke Nethercott, Hill Sarah Henderson, Westerman Olivia Tripodi, Womack Arkansas House Delegation to McDonough: The Politicization of the VA is Inappropriate 6/14/2024 Washington, D.C. — Congressmen Rick Crawford (AR-01), French Hill (AR-02), Steve Womack (AR-03), and Bruce Westerman (AR-04) sent a letter to U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Secretary Denis […]

May 29, 2024

Arkansas Delegation Supports Governor’s Request for Major Disaster Declaration

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Boozman, Sara Lasure or Matthew Wester Cotton, Caroline Tabler or Patrick McCann Crawford, Sara Robertson Hill, Brooke Nethercott Womack, Olivia Tripodi Westerman, Sarah Henderson Arkansas Delegation Supports Governor’s Request for Major Disaster Declaration 5/29/2024 Washington, D.C. — U.S. Senators John Boozman and Tom Cotton—along with Congressmen Steve Womack, Rick Crawford, French Hill and Bruce Westerman—wrote to President Joe Biden urging him to […]

Rep. Crawford Introduces EOD Legislation

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASEContact: Sara Robertson ( Rep. Crawford Introduces EOD Legislation 5/22/2024 Washington, D.C. – Congressman Rick Crawford (AR-01) introduced a series of bills this week that will improve the welfare of our military’s Explosive Ordnance Disposal (EOD) personnel. Crawford, the founder and chairman of the House EOD Caucus, worked with caucus members on the House […]